Uncategorized

Oops! There goes my pride.

Today, I learned a valuable lesson: learn as much as you can before you try as hard as you can.

We moved into our new place today, and there was much to do, not the least of which is hang pictures. My father in law had some fancy sheet rock screws that were going to make this easy for me to hang.

So we set out to hang a very large picture of a couple dancing on a beach in formal attire. This is Amanda’s favorite picture. After a while though, Gary – my father in law- told me just to watch and hold the picture. He finished about 5 minutes later.

Well I didn’t watch and learn. Thinking I knew what he did, I went into the bathroom to hang one on my own. I planned to do this in less time to show him I really knew what I was doing.

… then 20 minutes later I put my screwdriver bit threw the wall.

I did figure out how to do hang a picture properly after 20 more minutes of trial and error, but I am thankful to God that the picture I hung had edges long enough to cover up that hole that will always remind me of my pride.

Folks, maybe it is just a man thing. I don’t know. There is a lesson here though.

It takes less time to learn to do it right than it does to do it over. There is also less of a cost to doing it right than trying to fix the damage we cause in our prideful ignorance.

In a lot of ways, people do what I did with something more valuable than a piece of Sheetrock on the line. They just rush into life thinking they know what it means to “live.” Yet, when it is all said and done, they have hurt themselves and are spending years of their life trying to fix the damage.

How much better off would we all be if we sought to be taught before we act?

2 thoughts on “Oops! There goes my pride.

  1. Hey there, I just hopped over to your webpage using StumbleUpon. Not somthing I would typically browse, but I liked your views none the less. Thank you for creating some thing worth reading through.

Leave a Reply

