Uncategorized

BEN’S VALENTINE FAIL FOR AMANDA

 

It was Valentine’s, and Amanda would soon be home.

While she was out, I had installed two corner shelves in our dining area  – each holding a three-foot tall arrangement of spring flowers. Candles were set on the table flickering dim light on the table.  Strawberries, fruit dip, and sparkling juices were elegantly framed on the table. It was a romantic scene – to be sure.

Every detail was meticulously designed.  I even installed a dimmer switch to dim the light over the dining table – because Amanda often complained of how hot it was to sit under it. I was very proud of the work I had done so quickly.

Looking at the scene though, I realized how sappy it was.  I did  NOT want to be a total sap. So I went to pick up a card that would make Amanda laugh but would warm her heart at the same time.  I was running out of time though.  She would be home in a matter of minutes.  So I rushed to the store to use those last few minutes to get the perfect card.

I looked at a number of them swiftly,  but when I read this one – I knew immediately it was exactly what I was looking for.

 

The answer to this provocative statement on the cover of the card was cleverly answered with “ME.”  I loved it. Funny – but sweet.  This was exactly what I was going for.

Quickly – I drove home.  I wanted to be sure I got there in time to surprise Amanda.

Once I was home, I scrambled to fill out the card.  I heard a knock on the door. Amanda was home. I let her in, and she began to smile.   “You did this all for me, babe? I love it!!!” She declared.
After she had time to settle in though – she found the card and asked,  “Did you get this for me babe?”

“Yes. I picked that card out just for you.” I said with a smile.

She read through the card.

But then something unexpected happened.   She began to laugh at it much harder than I could have ever anticipated.

“Babe, did you REALLY pick this card out for me or someone else special to you?”

“What do you mean?”  I asked.

“Here. Read it.”  She said as she handed me the card.

I looked at the card, but I couldn’t see what was so funny to her.  “What are you talking about? What’s wrong with it? Why don’t you like it?”  I asked.

Then pointing to the bottom of the card she said,  “It is fine with me, but I think your husband will like it a lot better than I do.”

 

 

Yep.  Sometimes when we get in a rush to do something – we do things too quickly and miss important details.  Once again, I have been reminded that I need to slow down and check the work I have done.   Preparation and being thorough might not be the easiest thing to do, but someone once told me it takes less time to do it right the first time than it does to do it wrong and have to do it all over again.

Obviously – I couldn’t do the whole Valentine’s surprise all over again, but at least, Amanda got the laugh I wanted her to have.

Leave a Reply

